Sunday, March 6, 2016

Kerry Athletics Annual Awards Ceremony

The Kerry Athletics Annual Awards Ceremony was held at the DromHall Hotel, Killarney on Saturday March 4th. We had three club members who were awarded for their achievements in 2015.
2015 Award Winners

Cian Spillane & Shauna McCarthy received the club awards for their outstanding achievements throughout 2015 in Track & Field, Cross Country and Community Games.

Maria McCarthy received the award for best Master in Cross Country & Roads. Maria had a very successful year taking individual wins at Munster level and was part of the Irish Masters team to win silver in the British & Irish Masters International Cross Country Championships. Maria was also a valued member of the Kerry Ladies Team who were 3rd overall in the 2015 National T&F League. The highlight of the year for Maria was when she won a silver medal in the World Masters T&F Championships in the 5000m distance.

Jerome Crowley was awarded the Hall of Fame for his dedication and commitment to athletics throughout his whole life. Jerome commenced his athletic career in the mid 1950’s when he competed very successfully as a juvenile in a sports meeting at Firies, Ballyhar and Currow. In fact he was unbeatable in the one hundred yards sprint U12 and U14. It must be remembered that there was no organised juvenile championships in those days and young people were lucky to get one or two juvenile events in meetings almost solely for senior athletes.
He attended Tralee C.B.S. and in 1962, with colleagues Ted Fitzgerald, Henry McKenney and Brian O’Neill won the Munster Schools 4x100 yards relay. They went on the win bronze medals at the All Ireland Schools in that year.
In 1961, he won the County Senior Long Jump Title and placed second in the Triple Jump. In 1962 and 1963 he won medals in both Long & Triple Jumps at the Munster Schools Championships. Jerome was part of the club team who won the coveted Quill Cup for the first time in 1962. Like his late father, John Crowley, he has given sterling service to Farranfore Maine Valley Athletic Club and to Kerry County Athletics Board.